Twinkie Tips

hershey1

Hey there friends! With summer in full swing, I hope you’ve all gotten a chance to have some fun in the sun. For those that are chasing tiny humans around this summer, I hope there has been plenty of wine in the equation for you when the sun has gone down.

Last weekend my tribe and I road tripped to PA so we could visit Hersheypark. Hershey was a long standing tradition throughout my childhood years. We would pile in the car, always stop at Cracker Barrel, and spend a day in the park for a quick mid summer getaway. I have fond memories of these summers spent in Hershey and was excited to start the same traditions with my own family. The twins are MUCH younger than I was when I started going, so there was a realistic expectation that I needed to go into this trip with as it would be a little different than when we went as a family. Now that we’ve had our sweet weekend of “hersheypark happy” there were a few things I thought I’d share so you all would have tips if you do decide to go away with your little, little ones. We had a great weekend filled with fun, and we came out unscathed, but this was for sure an exhausting trip that left this mama needing three days to recover from a day and a half away.

A few things to consider the next time you brave a weekend away with your kiddies:

secure an extra set of eyes and hands
If there’s one thing that made this trip an easier experience, it was having my sister and my dad traveling with us. At best, no matter where we go with the twins, we are at an equal number of babies to adults. This can get dicey at times. The four extra eyes and hands ensured at any given time, myself or my hubs could get a break. Also, there was always someone available to hang out and keep the tiny humans occupied while the rest of us big humans rode the rides.

babyproof your hotel room
I hadn’t thought about this prior to leaving. This was the first time we had stayed with the twins in a hotel. While we have been away from home with them a few times, we have always stayed with family. Let me just say; there are a lot of new things for the twins to discover roaming around a single hotel room. You’d think a room so small wouldn’t hold a million ways for them to get hurt and for mama to panic but low cut and behold I learn more and more on the job as a parent than I thought I would. A few things that were most helpful to us? Keeping the bathroom door closed at all times; this prevented any accidents and desires for little hands to play with little toiletries. Taking the garbage bags out of the garbages and putting them on a high surface out of reach from the kids; I don’t know why but my children were fascinated with throwing things in the garbage. However, this would have been much more helpful if they had been throwing away actual garbage and not important items I needed like their shoes, my sunglasses, etc. We just threw actual garbage away in the bags placed high up and let the kids throw whatever they wanted in the trash cans. This also made it so I didn’t have to worry about one kid suffocating themselves. We basically redecorated; everything was moved into a place where the twins couldn’t touch it including the clock radio, sound machine that we brought, etc etc. One other thing to keep in mind ? There are a LOT of surfaces that are within reach of mischievous toddlers so be wary or you’ll wind up like I did…. watching your kid dump a Red Bull, and then a can of soda all over herself. Oops.

have a plan for the day if you are going to an amusement park or doing an activity
This was something that the usual planner in me didn’t really do and it led to some stressful moments and arguments between me and hubs. Think about nap and meal times to alleviate toddler (and adult) meltdowns. I made the mistake of getting the kids all changed for the water park in hersheypark during their usual nap time (a 45 minute ordeal when you factor in both kids, sunscreen, and changing myself) and then when all was said and done, they were ready to nap and all that work was for naught. VERY frustrating to this mama and I should have thought about it sooner to save time and aggravation. Bring your own food into the parks (if permitted– but it usually is) because again, a mistake I made was trying to feed my kids the park food when they were already off schedule and cranky. They wound up eating an applesauce and some animal crackers that came with their kids meal and it was money wasted. I could have saved myself some cash if I had just prepared some good ol’ pbj beforehand. Then by the time we left the park, I had an #assholeparent moment realizing they hadn’t had dinner so I ran through a panera and chased them around a hotel room at 9pm trying to get them to eat. Learn from my mistakes!!

skip unreasonable souvenirs
You will be tempted to get your kids cute stuff at the park. You will. Your kids will show interest and you will oblige and get them something that glows or makes some annoying sound. For us, it was a bubble machine. We walked around swearing we needed it because the twins were so excited anytime they saw the bubbles! We bought it (an overpriced $20) and then of course chaos ensued because we only bought one and they couldn’t figure out how to use it on their own (and we haven’t learned sharing yet.) The thing wound up leaking bubble soap all over the top of the stroller where I had strategically placed it out of kid-view and I’m pretty sure it has remained in the trunk of our mini van ever since.

Each adventure we take with these kids, I learn something new. Hopefully these tips will save you troubles on your next venture! We had a ball though and I would recommend a Hershey trip to anyone, no matter the ages of your children.  You’d be surprised just how many little babies we noticed there. If anyone has any life-saving travel tips they have acquired over the years, share them! Until next time, happy travels!

Leave a Reply

